Join us
CAS International Talents


CAS President's International Fellowship Initiative 

CAS is a national academic institution in China consisting of a comprehensive research and development network, a merit-based learned society and a system of higher education, focusing on natural sciences, technological sciences and high-tech innovation in China. It has 12 branches, 2 universities and more than 100 institutes with around 60,000 staff and 50,000 postgraduate students. It hosts 89 national key labs, 172 CAS key labs, 30 national engineering research centers and about 1,000 field stations throughout China. As a merit-based society, it has five academic divisions. CAS is dedicated to addressing fundamental, strategic and farsighted challenges related to the overall and long-term development of China. CAS is the leading founding member of ANSO. 

Read more about CAS: 





The ANSO Scholarship for Young Talents 

ANSO is a non-profit and non-governmental international scientific organization founded in 2018 by 37 international science and education institutions from around the world. ANSO is committed to promoting shared sustainable development and the advancement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through catalyzing and implementing concrete international cooperative initiatives in Science, Technology, Innovation and Capacity Building (STIC). It is envisaged that ANSO will focus on the most urgent regional and global challenges through STIC. This focus includes supporting scientific capacity building and the needs, particularly of the Global South, through partnerships and cooperation with the member countries and institutions. ANSO will also promote collaborations across the scientific and technological communities of the world to ensure that the benefits of the BRI are widely shared. There will be open access to scientific facilities and information among participants in ANSO. The grooming and empowerment of young scientists will be a particular focus of ANSO. The ANSO Scholarship is one of the main approaches to achieve this goal. 

Read more about ANSO: 

Master Degree & PhD 

●Tuition waiver 

●Monthly stipend:  

Master's: 3000 CNY/month, up to 36 months; 

PhD: 6000 or 7000 CNY/month (depending on whether he/she has passed the qualification test arranged by USTC/UCAS), up to 48 months  

●Health insurance 

●Application fee waiver 

●Travel subsidy from their home countries to China (one trip per person)  

Any scholarship awardee on site in China, the host country, at the time of application will NOT be eligible for any travel subsidy. 

Awardees are required to finish centralized training in Chinese language, Chinese culture and all required credits as well as practical research and completion of degree thesis at colleges and schools of USTC/UCAS or CAS institutes.  

Any master's awardee who fails annual assessments will face the consequences including:  

●Termination of his/her scholarship; 

●Discontinuity of his/her master's study; 

●Being provided with a certificate of attendance for the period of study undertaken in China but not a formal master's degree. 

Any PhD awardee who fails the qualification test or annual assessment will face the consequences including:  

●Termination of his/her scholarship; 

●Discontinuity of his/her doctoral study; 

●Being provided with a certificate of attendance for the period of study undertaken in China but not a formal doctoral degree. 

All the awardees are required to abide by Chinese laws and USTC/UCAS regulations and rules. 

Check website for every year’s deadline and other details. 

TWAS Fellowships for PhD studies and Postdoctoral research  

The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) is an autonomous international organization that promotes scientific capacity and excellence in the South. Founded as the Third World Academy of Sciences by a group of eminent scientists under the leadership of the late Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan in 1983, TWAS was officially launched in Trieste, Italy, in 1985, by the Secretary General of the United Nations. For more information, please visit: 

We are pleased to inform you that the 2022 TWAS Fellowships call for applications is now open for PhD and Postdoctoral programmes that are offered in the natural sciences to students and researchers from developing countries to gain postgraduate education and research experience at top global scientific institutions in the South. 

The application eligibility requirements and deadlines vary according to the different fellowships. 

For full details on eligibility criteria and application procedures, please visit: 

For PhD studies: 

For Postdoctoral research visits: 

Applications from women and candidates from Science and Technology Lagging countries (STLC) are especially encouraged. 

** For a list of the STLC please see ** 

Applications from non-STLC developing countries are also accepted. 

Please feel free to circulate this announcement to any suitable person who may be interested in these opportunities. 

For queries, applicants should contact